When did Nascar stop Winston Cup?

The final season of Winston Cup racing was bookended by stops in the state of Florida but the 2003 circuit will be forever memorialized right here in Winston-Salem. This month, we’re featuring the last Winston Cup season and the Winston Cup’s 2003 champion, Matt Kenseth.

Who won the Winston Cup in 2002?

Tony Stewart, driving for Joe Gibbs Racing, was declared as the Winston Cup champion. Bill Elliott won the 2002 NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver Award.

Who won the Winston Cup in 1974?

Richard Petty was Winston Cup champion at the end of the season finishing 567.45 points ahead of Cale Yarborough, while David Pearson finished a strong third in points despite only nineteen starts. Earl Ross was named NASCAR Rookie of the Year.

Who won the Winston Cup in 1994?

Dale Earnhardt of Richard Childress Racing was crowned champion at season’s end, winning consecutive Winston Cups for the third time in his career and tying Richard Petty for the record of most top-level NASCAR championships with seven.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do you put items behind you in Mario Kart Wii?

Who won the 1999 Winston Cup?

Dale Jarrett, representing Robert Yates Racing, was crowned the champion, while the NASCAR Manufacturers’ Championship was won by the Ford drivers with 13 wins and 231 points over second-place Chevrolet who had 12 wins and 210 points.

Who won the Nascar championship in 2001?

NASCAR Cup Series Champions

Year No. Champion
2001 24 Jeff Gordon
2000 18 Bobby Labonte
1999 88 Dale Jarrett
1998 24 Jeff Gordon

Who drove the 40 Coors Light car?

Sterling Marlin, Coors Light

40 Coors Light Dodge for Chip Ganassi Racing until 2005.

Who won the 1973 Nascar championship?

Benny Parsons was crowned Winston Cup champion at the end of the season finishing 67 points ahead of Cale Yarborough. Lennie Pond was named NASCAR Rookie of the Year, succeeding Larry Smith, who was fatally injured in the year’s Talladega 500.

Who won the 1975 Nascar championship?

Richard Petty, the 1975 NASCAR Winston Cup Series Champion. This would be his 6th of his 7 championships.

Who is number 7 in Nascar?

Owner: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Justin Allgaier competes full time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series for JR Motorsports, driving the No. 7 Chevrolet.

Did Bill Elliott win a Nascar championship?

William Clyde “Bill” Elliott (born October 8, 1955) is an American stock car racing driver. Elliott won the 1988 NASCAR Cup Series championship, garnered 44 wins in that series. He had two Daytona 500 victories, and a record four consecutive wins at Michigan International Speedway during 1985-86.

Who won the Winston Cup in 1992?

Alan Kulwicki hoisting the Winston Cup Championship Trophy, at the conclusion of the Hooter’s 500, Atlanta on November 12, 1992.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What kind of car is the next gen Nascar?

Who was 99 in Nascar?

NASCAR Car #99

Driver Laps
1 Carl Edwards 107,186
2 Jeff Burton 82,724
3 Paul Goldsmith 14,317
4 Shorty Rollins 6,139

How many races did Dale Earnhardt win 1999?

Earnhardt won a total of 76 Winston Cup races over the course of his 4 decade career, including four Winston 500s (1990, 1994, 1999, and 2000) and the 1998 Daytona 500. He also earned seven Winston Cup championships, a record held with Richard Petty and Jimmie Johnson.

Dale Earnhardt.

Wins Top tens Poles
76 428 22
Auto racing blog